President's September Report

(posted: September 3, 2019)

Dear Brother and Sisters,

Conference Presidents, please share this monthly news with your members to keep everyone connected with what is happening at all levels of the Society. Particular and Central Council Presidents, please share this monthly news with your Vincentian members who may not belong to a Conference, and feel free to email questions or comments to linda@ssvp.on.ca.

SPIRITUAL MATTERS
The September spiritual reflection references the desert and how we, as Vincentians, help lead people out of the desert. Contact denise@ssvp.on.ca should you have questions on spiritual resources.

ONRC FALL MEETING
We look forward to seeing you in Brantford for the September 20/21 meeting. These meetings are open to all members and store managers.

Refer to the Upcoming Events on our website for the agenda, workshop and hotel information. Be sure to complete your registration for the meeting by September 6. It is important that you pre-register selecting your workshops on Saturday and activities you plan to attend on Friday to assist with logistical planning.

You will have an opportunity to meet the new National President, Claude Bedard, who was acclaimed into the role at the recent National AGA meeting.

There is a Social Justice meeting on Friday afternoon from 2:45 – 4:45 pm. Refer to the agenda and interactive exercise for more information.

SOCIAL JUSTICE & ADVOCACY
As mentioned in last month’s communication, a National Housing Campaign Committee has been created. A reminder for anyone who can provide valuable input on this topic, please complete the survey by September 30, 2019. Once these surveys are reviewed, you will hear more information in the fall on what can be done by Councils on this very important issue. Please contact jim@ssvp.on.ca if you have any questions.

The Advocacy Committee heard a presentation from Garth Brown, who promotes the concept of turning unused space in current homes into legal secondary suites. He works with local municipalities in identifying potential tenants that are entitled to rent subsidies to occupy these units, thus creating affordable housing where none previously existed.

STORES
Congratulations to Peterborough PC who opened their third SSVP store, Vinnie’s Feel Good Shopping, on August 24.

SUCCESSION PLANNING

As you know, the terms for Presidents stated in the Canadian Rule and Statutes are:

  • Conference Presidents – 3 years with possible second term of 3 years (6 years maximum)
  • Particular Council President – 4 years with possible second term of 2 years (6 years maximum)
  • Central Council President – 5 years only and non renewable
It is important that Councils and Conferences have a succession planning in place and adhere to the terms to continue to rejuvenate Conferences and Councils for the good of the Society. Presidents and Executive teams should always be thinking of succession planning to ensure that Conferences and Councils do not become stagnate. We will be reaching out to Presidents whose terms have expired or whose term will be expiring in 2020 to discuss and assist with succession planning. In the meantime, please reach out to phil@ssvp.on.ca should you have any questions.

WORLD DAY OF THE POOR
Pope Francis has declared the Third World Day of the Poor to be November 17, 2019.

Promotional materials have been created by National Council of Canada to be used by Conferences, Councils and SSVP Stores to help raise awareness of the World Day of the Poor Campaign. These materials are now available.

YOUTH
Konrad shares his experience attending his first National AGA.

INTERNATIONAL

A call was recently organized on August 10 with International President Renato Lima de Oliveira who answered questions. There is another call taking place October 27 and information will be shared in October on how you can participate in this call.

ADMINISTRATION

Sarah Davidson will be reaching out to Presidents starting late September/early October to update our database with new Executive contact information. Please respond to Sarah quickly when you receive her request.

A reminder to ensure proper screening is done when new members come on board including the Abuse, Discrimination and Harassment Prevention training. If you have not already confirmed with Sarah that you have completed the Abuse, Discrimination and Harassment Prevention training with your existing members, please advise sarah@ssvp.on.ca as this is required for the protection of the Society, our members and the people we serve, as well as being an insurance requirement.

BEST PRACTICES
New member engagement strategy

Feel free to contact linda@ssvp.on.ca or sarah@ssvp.on.ca at any time should you have questions.

Thank you to our 5,000 members across Ontario for all your amazing work reaching out and helping persons in need.

Linda Dollard
President

Message de la présidente de septembre

(publié: 3 septembre 2019)

Chers Frères et Soeurs,

Je demande aux présidents de conférence de bien vouloir partager cette nouvelle mensuelle avec vos membres pour que tout le monde reste en contact avec ce qui se passe aux niveaux régional, national et international de l'Ontario. Présidents des conseils particuliers et centraux, veuillez partager cette nouvelle mensuelle avec vos membres vincentiens ne faisant pas partie d'une conférence. N'hésitez pas à envoyer vos questions ou commentaires à linda@ssvp.on.ca.

QUESTIONS SPIRITUELLES
La réflexion spirituelle de septembre fait référence au désert et à la manière dont nous, vincentiens, aidons les gens à sortir du désert. Si vous avez des questions sur les ressources spirituelles, contactez denise@ssvp.on.ca.

ONRC RÉUNION D'AUTOMNE
Nous avons hâte de vous voir à Brantford pour la réunion des 20 et 21 septembre. Ces réunions sont ouvertes à tous les membres et directeurs de magasin.

Consultez les événements à venir sur notre site Web pour consulter l'agenda, les ateliers et les informations sur l'hôtel. Assurez-vous de compléter votre inscription à la réunion avant le 6 septembre. Il est important de vous pré-inscrire en sélectionnant vos ateliers le samedi et les activités auxquelles vous prévoyez d'assister le vendredi pour vous aider dans la planification logistique.

Vous aurez l'occasion de rencontrer le nouveau président national, Claude Bédard, qui a été élu par acclamation lors de la récente réunion de l'AGA nationale.

Il y a une réunion sur la justice sociale le vendredi après-midi de 14h45 à 16h45. Reportez-vous àl'ordre du jour et à l'exercice interactif pour plus d'informations.

JUSTICE SOCIALE ET PRISE DE POSITION
Comme indiqué dans la communication du mois dernier, un comité de la campagne nationale pour le logement a été créé. Pour rappel à quiconque peut apporter une contribution précieuse à ce sujet, veuillez compléter le sondage avant le 30 septembre 2019. Une fois ces sondages seront examinés, vous obtiendrez plus de renseignements à l'automne sur ce que les conseils peuvent faire sur cette question très importante. Veuillez contacter jim@ssvp.on.ca si vous avez des questions.

Le comité de prise de position a entendu un exposé de Garth Brown, qui a défendu l'idée de transformer les espaces inutilisés des maisons actuelles en appartements accessoires légaux. Il travaille avec les municipalités locales pour identifier les locataires potentiels ayant droit à des subventions de loyer pour occuper ces unités, créant ainsi un logement abordable là où il n'en existait pas auparavant.

MAGASINS
Félicitations au CP de Peterborough qui a ouvert son troisième magasin SSVP, Vinnie’s Feel Good Shopping, le 24 août.

PLANIFICATION DE LA RELÈVE

Comme vous le savez, les termes relatifs aux présidents énoncés dans la règle et les statuts canadiens sont les suivants:

  • Présidents de conférence - 3 ans avec éventuellement un second mandat de 3 ans (6 ans maximum)
  • Président du Conseil particulier - 4 ans avec éventuellement un second mandat de 2 ans (6 ans maximum)
  • Président du Conseil central - 5 ans seulement et non renouvelable
Il est important que les conseils et les conférences aient mis en place une planification de la succession et adhèrent aux conditions pour continuer à rajeunir les conférences et les conseils pour le bien de la Société. Les présidents et les équipes de direction doivent toujours penser à une planification de la succession afin d’éviter que les conférences et les conseils ne deviennent stagnants. Nous contacterons les présidents dont le mandat est arrivé à expiration ou dont le mandat expirera en 2020 pour discuter et aider à la planification de la relève. En attendant, veuillez contacter phil@ssvp.on.ca si vous avez des questions.

JOURNÉE MONDIALE DES PAUVRES
Le pape François a déclaré que la troisième journée mondiale des pauvres se déroulerait le 17 novembre 2019.

Le Conseil national du Canada a créé du matériel promotionnel que les conférences, les conseils et les magasins SSVP peuvent utiliser pour sensibiliser le public à la campagne de la Journée mondiale des pauvres. Ces matériaux sont maintenant disponibles..

JEUNESSE
Konrad partage on expérience lors de sa première AGA nationale.

INTERNATIONAL

ALe 10 août, un appel a été organisé avec le président international, Renato Lima de Oliveira, qui a répondu aux questions. Un autre appel aura lieu le 27 octobre et des informations seront partagées en octobre sur la manière dont vous pouvez participer à cet appel.

ADMINISTRATION

Sarah Davidson contactera les présidents à partir de fin septembre / début octobre pour mettre à jour notre base de données avec les nouvelles coordonnées de la direction. S'il vous plaît répondez rapidement à Sarah lorsque vous recevez sa demande.

Un rappel pour s'assurer que le dépistage est bien fait lorsque de nouveaux membres arrivent y compris la formation sur la prévention des abus, de la discrimination et du harcèlement. Si vous n'avez pas déjà confirmé avec Sarah que vous avez suivi la formation sur la prévention des abus, de la discrimination et du harcèlement avec vos membres actuels, veuillez en informer sarah@ssvp.on.ca car cela est nécessaire pour la protection de la Société, de nos membres et de la population. nous servons, tout en étant une exigence d'assurance.

MEILLEURES PRATIQUES
Stratégie d'engagement des nouveaux membres

N'hésitez pas à contacter linda@ssvp.on.ca ou sarah@ssvp.on.ca à tout moment si vous avez des questions.

Merci à nos 5 000 membres à travers l’Ontario pour tout votre travail extraordinaire au service des personnes dans le besoin .

Linda Dollard
Présidente